Burna Boy, Davido, Tems, Asake, others nominated for “55th NAACP Image Awards”

NAACP has unveiled the full list of “55th NAACP Image Awards” nominees with Global African artists, Burna Boy, Davido, Tems, Asake, Libianca, Black Sherif, Lojay, Omah Lay, and Ayra Starr bagging nominations in the music categories.

More Africans shine bright as Ayo Edebiri, John Boyega, Nkechi Okoro Carroll, Daniel Kaluuya, Lola Akinmade Åkerström earn nominations across Motion Picture, Literary and Television categories. The winners will be revealed during the two–hour LIVE TV special, airing Sunday 17 March 2024 at 19:00 WAT/ 20:00 CAT on BET Africa (DStv channel 129).
Colman Domingo leads the nominations across the motion picture categories with three nominations. Ayo Edebiri received the most nominations in the television and streaming categories with two for Abbott Elementary and The Bear.

Victoria Monét and Usher received the most nominations in the music recording categories, earning six and five nods, respectively. RCA Records received an impressive 20 nominations, the most across record labels. HarperCollins Publisher and Penguin Random House lead nominations across literary categories seven and four nods, respectively.
“We are thrilled to celebrate the achievements of this year’s nominees, whose outstanding contributions across film, television and streaming, music, literature, podcasts, and more haveinspired us all,” said Derrick Johnson, President and CEO of the NAACP. “The NAACP Image Awards stand as a tribute to their creativity, talent, and dedication to authentic storytelling and are a testament to the richness and diversity of our community.”

“As we reflect on the rich legacy of the NAACP, we take pride in honoring the artistic brilliance of this year’s nominees. We are excited to illuminate and celebrate the extraordinary talent within our community,” said Scott Mills, President and CEO, BET Media Group.
Speaking on the African nominees for this year, Monde Twala, Senior Vice President of Paramount Africa, and Peer Lead, BET International, said, “We take pride in shining a spotlight on black legacy and excellence. As a conduit for honoring authentic stories and recognizing groundbreaking work in film, television, theatre, music, and literature, we have a global array of African artists, including Burna Boy, Davido, Tems, Asake, Libianca, Black Sherif, Lojay, Omah Lay, and Ayra Starr, securing nods in the music categories. Adding to the brilliance, Ayo Edebiri, John Boyega, Nkechi Okoro Carroll, Daniel Kaluuya, Lola Akinmade Åkerström receive well-deserved nominations spanning Motion Picture, Literary, and Television categories.”
By visiting www.naacpimageawards.net, the public can vote to determine the winners of the “55th NAACP Image Awards” in select categories. Voting closes February 24 at 9:00 p.m. Winners will be revealed during the “55th NAACP Image Awards” telecast on March 16, 2024, on BET and CBS. NAACP will also recognize winners in non-televised Image Awards categories March 11–14th, which will stream via naacpimageawards.net. For information and updates, please follow NAACP Image Awards on Instagram @NAACPImageAwards.

The “55th NAACP Image Awards” is proudly presented by this year’s incredible partners and sponsors. We extend our thanks for their invaluable support and commitment to promoting excellence in the Black community.
Media interested in interviews and covering the “55th NAACP Image Awards,” can complete the following application: https://betnaacpimageawards2024.pvitl.com/registration/media_form. For any additional media questions, please email ImageAwardsCredentials@ssmandl.com or BETPressinfo@bet.net.

Globally recognized as one of the most distinguished multicultural awards shows, the “55th NAACP Image Awards” will continue a tradition of excellence, uplifting values that inspire equality, justice, and progressive change, and highlighting artists committed to that purpose.

One of the most iconic annual celebrations of Black excellence, the NAACP Image Awards draws the biggest and brightest stars in Hollywood. Previous years’ attendees and winners include Angela Bassett, Will Smith, Viola Davis, Beyoncé, Nicco Annan, Ruth E. Carter, Glynn Turman, Quinta Brunson, Nia Long, Keith David, Jennifer Hudson, Stacey Abrams, Tabitha Brown, Dwayne Wade & Gabrielle Union, Tems, Erica Campbell, Chris Brown, Bruno Mars Anderson. Paak Silk Sonic, Rihanna, Quavo, Takeoff, Sheryl Lee Ralph, Zendaya, Yara Shahidi, Issa Rae, Janelle Monáe, Tracee Ellis Ross, Serena Williams, Kerry Washington, Method Man, Dominique Thorne, Austin Scott, Tyler James Williams, Kyla Pratt, Jabari Banks, and many more.
To Apply For “55th NAACP IMAGE AWARDS” 2024 Media Credentials, Including NAACP Image Awards Fashion Show and NAACP Image Awards Dinner, click on the link below: https://betnaacpimageawards2024.pvitl.com/registration/media_form.
The full list of nominees can be found below:


Outstanding Male Artist

Burna Boy (Atlantic Records)

Chris Brown (RCA Records/Chris Brown Entertainment)

Davido (RCA Records/Sony Music UK)

Jon Batiste (Verve Records)

Usher (Mega/Gamma)

Outstanding Female Artist

Tems (RCA Records/Since ’93)

H.E.R. (RCA Records)

Janelle Monáe (Atlantic Records/Bad Boy/Wondaland)

Ari Lennox (Dreamville/Interscope Records)

Victoria Monét (RCA Records/Lovett Music)
Outstanding New Artist

FLO (Uptown Records / Republic Records)

Jordan Ward (Artium/Interscope Records)

Leon Thomas (EZMNY Records/Motown Records)

October London (Death Row Records)

Victoria Monét (RCA Records/Lovett Music)

Outstanding International Song
“Amapiano” – Asake feat. Olamide (YBNL Nation / EMPIRE)

“City Boys” – Burna Boy (Atlantic Records)

“Me & U” – Tems (RCA Records/Since ’93)

“People” – Libianca feat. Ayra Starr & Omah Lay (RCA Records/Sony Music UK/5K Records)

“Unavailable” – Davido (RCA Records/Sony Music UK)

Outstanding Music Video/Visual Album

“Sensational” – Chris Brown feat. Davido & Lojay (RCA Records/Chris Brown Entertainment)
“Cobra” – Megan Thee Stallion (Hot Girl Productions)

“How We Roll” – Ciara (Beauty Marks Entertainment)

“On My Mama” – Victoria Monét (RCA Records/Lovett Music)

“Boyfriend” – Usher (Mega/Gamma)

Outstanding Album

“I Told Them…” – Burna Boy (Atlantic Records)

“Clear 2: Soft Life” – Summer Walker (LVRN/Interscope Records)
“For All The Dogs” – Drake (OVO/Republic Records)

“Jaguar II” – Victoria Monét (RCA Records/Lovett Music)

“The Age of Pleasure” – Janelle Monáe (Atlantic Records/Bad Boy/Wondaland)

Outstanding Gospel/Christian Album

“All Yours” – Kierra Sheard (RCA Inspiration / Karew Entertainment)

“Father’s Day” – Kirk Franklin (Fo Yo Soul Recordings and RCA Records)

“Impossible” – Pastor Mike, Jr. (Rock City/Black Smoke)
“My Truth” – Jonathan McReynolds (MNRK Music Group)

“The Maverick Way Complete” – Maverick City Music (Insignia & TRIBL Records)

Outstanding Soundtrack/Compilation Album

“Creed III: The Soundtrack” – Michael B. Jordan, Ludwig Göransson, Archie Davis, Frank Brim (Dreamville / Interscope Records)

“Godfather of Harlem: Season 3 (Original Series Soundtrack)” – Swizz Beatz & Avery Chambliss (Epic Records, a division of Sony Music Entertainment)

” Metro Boomin Presents Spider–Man: Across the Spider–Verse (Soundtrack From and Inspired by the Motion Picture/Deluxe Edition)” – Metro Boomin (Republic Records)

“The Color Purple–Original Motion Picture Soundtrack” – Various Producers (WaterTower Music/Gamma)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *